Registration open for Ada Lovelace Symposium

We are delighted to announce that registration has opened for the Ada Lovelace Symposium 2015, celebrating the 200th birthday of computer visionary Ada Lovelace. The  Symposium takes place on 9 and 10 December, in the Mathematical Institute of the University of Oxford, with a reception and dinner on 9 December. There will also be a workshop for graduate students and early career researchers on 8 December. For more details, see

Symposium and registration

Our amazing line-up includes:

  • John Barnes, expert on the ADA programming language
  • Valerie  Barr, Union College, computer scientist and chair ACM’s Committee on Women in Computing
  • June Barrow-Green, Open University, historian of 19th-century mathematics
  • Sir Drummond Bone, Master Balliol College and Byron expert
  • Elizabeth Bruton, Museum of the History of Science, Oxford, historian of technology
  • Muffy Calder, University of Glasgow, computer scientist
  • Suw Charman-Anderson, founder of Ada Lovelace Day, a global celebration of women in STEM
  • Imogen Forbes-Macphail, Berkeley, PhD student on Lovelace, poetry and mathematics
  • Judith Grabiner, Pitzer College, historian and mathematician
  • Vicki Hanson, Rochester Institute of Technology, computer scientist and Vice-President ACM
  • Christopher Hollings, University of Oxford, historian of mathematics working on the Ada Lovelace archive
  • Richard Holmes, British Academy, biographer and author of The Age of Wonder
  • Adrian Johnstone, Royal Holloway University of London, computer scientist and historian
  • The Earl of Lytton, member of the House of Lords and descendant of Ada Lovelace
  • Julia Markus, Hofstra University, novelist, biographer and author of the recently published Lady Byron and Her Daughters
  • Ursula Martin, University of Oxford, mathematician and computer scientist
  • Sydney Padua, graphic artist, animator and author of the steampunk comic and book The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage
  • Murray Pittock, University of Glasgow, cultural historian
  • Cheryl E Praeger, University of Western Australia, mathematician and Foreign Secretary, Australian Academy of Science
  • Soren Riis, Queen Mary University of London, mathematician
  • Dame Stephanie Shirley, businesswoman and philanthropist
  • Bernard Sufrin, University of Oxford, academic and expert on computer programming and its history
  • Doron Swade, museum curator and author, expert on computer pioneer Charles Babbage and his engines
  • Betty Toole, author Ada, the Enchantress of Numbers, the influential anthology of Lovelace’s correspondence
  • Moshe Vardi, Rice University, computer scientist and expert on logic and artificial intelligence
  • Mike Wooldridge, University of Oxford, computer scientist and head of Department of Computer Science
  • Alex Wolf, Imperial College London, computer scientist and President of the ACM

For more information or to register, please see Symposium details and registration

See you in December!