Change in week day opening times from Mon 20 December

Desk with books on and a laptop. A clock is on the wall above.

The Bodleian Libraries, including the Social Science Library, will open at 9.30am on the open week days during w/c 19 December and w/c 2 January. This will help enable staggered arrival times for staff reliant on public transport.

Opening times for SSL –  19 December – 8 January:

Sunday 19 December: CLOSED

Mon 20 December – Wed 22 December: 09:30am – 19:00

Thur 23 December: 09:30 – 17:00

Fri 24 December – Mon 3 January: CLOSED

Tue 4 January – Fri 7 January: 09:30 – 19:00

Sat 8 January: 10:00 – 18:00

Opening hours beyond this date will be confirmed closer to the time. See our website for the latest information.

SSL Christmas Closure Period: Tuesday 22 December to Sunday 3 January (Dates Inclusive)

Festive image of parcels and decorations with Christmas closure period: Tuesday 22 December 2020 to Sunday 3 January 2021 (dates inclusive)

We will be closed from Tuesday 22 December 2020 to Sunday 3 January 2021 (dates inclusive).

The Library will close at 17:00 on Monday 21 December 2020 and reopen at 9:30 on Monday 4 January 2021.

Please remember that entrance to the library is strictly by advance booking only.

Letters in the snow on wooden scrabble tiles spelling out Merry Christmas with twinkling lights in the background

Take the SSL on Holiday : ways to access library material remotely

Vacation loans start during 8th week of Michaelmas term. Books (both normal and short  loan) will be due back on Tuesday 21 January (1st week of Hilary Term).

If you need to access library resources while you are away from Oxford, follow our tips below:

Access e-books, e-journals and databases remotely by logging in to SOLO with your Single Sign On (SSO) Take a look at the Bodleian Libraries LibGuides for further information.

SSL eReadings provides scans of selected articles and book chapters on reading lists we support that are not available in e-books or e-journals. SSL eReadings is hosted on WebLearn, log in with your Single Sign On (SSO)

Use the Scan & Deliver service if you need to get hold of a chapter or article from the Closed Stacks. Further information can be found here.

We will be closed from Tuesday 24 December to Wednesday 1 January (dates inclusive).

(The library will close at 5pm on Monday 23 December and re-open at 9am on Thursday 2 January)