Our library PCs have now all been updated to the new settings, whereby readers need to log in and out individually. Here are a few instructions which might help with the new system:
The screen is black. What do I do?
Touch any key or move the mouse to wake up the PC from standby.
How do I logon?
Login with your library barcode number (on your Library / University card) and password.
Use only lowercase letters.
What if I don’t know my password?
By default your password is your date of birth.
Password: 20jul1969 (lowercase letters)
If that doesn’t work or you changed your password in the past but can not longer recall it, contact a member of library staff who will be able to reset your password for you.
If you need to access the internet or the libraries’ electronic resources urgently, you can also use a Sun Ray (networked terminal). In the VHL this is the OLIS terminal on the first floor (north side, by the windows).
How do I change my password?
Go to OLIS, sign into your OLIS patron record (Patron Functions) and choose Change Password. You can also do this on a Sun Ray terminal in the library. Ask library staff for help with this if needed.
“Your account has been disabled” – what does that mean?
If you used your library barcode as the password, you will get this error message. You need to change your password in OLIS on a Sun Ray terminal or ask staff to reset it for you.
“The system could not log you on. Make sure your User name and domain are correct….” – what does that mean?
Make sure that the Domain box on the login screen is set to ‘library-public’ and try again. If you are still having problems logging on, ask a member of library staff to reset your password.
Can I save files?
Yes, you can save files, either to your memory stick or temporarily to the desktop. Note that all changes and files saved to the desktop will be deleted at the end of each session. To keep files securely, save them to a memory stick or email them to yourself.
I’ve saved my files to the desktop – where are they?
Files are saved by default to the top left of the desktop (for the duration of each session).
How long can I be away from the Library PC without being logged out?
If you don’t use the Library PC for 10 minutes you will receive a pop-up warning and after a further 10 minutes, you will be logged out automatically. Make sure you save your work to a memory stick if you think you may be away for that time.
Why can’t I share my username/password?
1. You must not share your username and password with anyone else. This contravenes IT regulations and you will be held responsible for any misuse of your account.
2. You can only be logged into one PC at a time. If you share your account with another person and they login, then they will close your session. You will lose any work.
Logout at the end of your session!
If you do not logout after you are finished, then the next person using the machine will have access to anything you have saved, or could misuse your account.
Ask library staff for help if needed!